In the past week I’ve ____, ____, ___, and ____. And before that, babysat for a real live child. She was long-haired and clever with a whole notebook of cute pictures she has taken (arranged in order of cuteness). She pulls her mother’s article proofs out of the waste basket and adds her own editorial marks.  I resusitated my second grade bunny drawing skills and taught her how to draw a bunny. J taught her pig-latin–and, I’m afraid, perhaps a little real latin as well. Before J and I got there she said to m.o.m:

“Quick, remind me of their names? Max and Ruby?”

Terrifying, I know. As I have already been Max, this time I got to play Ruby in the live version.

I later found out Max and Ruby are animated bunnies. Wiki provides a brief description of the program:

Each episode consists of three self-contained vignettes. Within each, Ruby is typically engaged in some sort of project or activity, while Max has a particular mania of his own which either runs counter to his sister’s or distracts her. Amusingly, Max’s dialog within each story is usually limited to just one word or a two-word phrase, which he repeats periodically. For example, “Tow truck!” or “Jellyballs!” By the end of the story, Max’s passion often dovetails with Ruby’s in some way, to her benefit and delight.

At dinner she informed us that when her friend comes over,

“We usually put one noodle on the floor.”

“Why,” I asked.

“Uh, because it’s funny?!”

I’ll refrain from identifying with a child or saying anything about wisdom from the mouths of babes.  Both would be utterly specious and only accessible cliche. It would be more accurate to cite wiki for the accidental insight.

