Dear Friends-Readers,

I am trying to raise $750 in order to attend the Lambda Literary Writers’ Retreat in LA in August.  That way I can workshop and “network” with Dorothy Allison and some other “emergent queer writers.” I am hoping to make a lot of progress on things like  a collection of essays and publication.
Lambda has a This is a pretty big deal because it was sort of hard to get into. It
is also a big deal because Lamdba has a history and reputation of
catering to rich, white, gay dudes. Whether they’re looking to change
their history or their reputation, they’ve let me in.

However they did NOT give me enough money to attend. They gave me a
half scholarship which means I still have to come up with $750 and
airfare.

Since they’re already reaping the reputation-enhancing benefits of
claiming me as a conference attendee (I’m one of those colorful
biography bytes they’ve included on the diversity-proof website) I am
hoping to reap some of the history-enhancing ones myself. So I’m
asking for your help.

In order for it to be possible for me to go I have to raise that
money. I was hoping that some/any of you might be able to contribute
some small amount toward my bigger goal. It is fairly easy to
contribute online. Just go to:

http://www.lambdaliterary.org/donations/retreat.html

and you can enter an amount to donate. You will also have to send an
email to  retreat@lambdaliterary.org in order to earmark the money for
me. It’s all explained on the website. I am trying to get the funds
together as soon as possible. I have to pay in full by August 1st.

I have already hit up my friends, enemies, and former professors for money and I thought I might try you: somewhat-public, as well. You can email or comment for more details if you want- I’ll be glad to provide a summary of my intentions and a glowing recommendation of my own work.
I suppose if you’re reading this then you already know about my work. GoodBadUglyEtAl.

Anyway, I would be exceptionally appreciative.

I also have a PayPal account if you have problems with that or would rather subsidize my travel. You just have to use my first.last@gmail.com email address in order to contribute.

And don’t worry… I’ll take this post down if I reach my goal.

thanks,

Femmephane

